Are Grits Gluten-Free? Yes, But Only Certain Brands

are grits gluten free? Grits are a traditional southern dish that comes from corn, not wheat. They’re gluten-free and safe to eat on the gluten free grits diet as many lists of foods allowed for people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity include them! One popular brand isn’t actually safe because they’re produced in facilities where barley is also grown; however, there are plenty more choices out there like Native G Faye Haney which will be sure your stomach feels better after eating these yummy grit cakes! Check out the best frisbee.

Brands Offering Gluten Free Grits

Are Grits Gluten-Free

Here’s a rundown of the various brands of grits that are gluten-free:

  • Arrowhead Mills: This grain products manufacturer, a division of Hain Celestial, makes boxed yellow corn grits prominently labeled “gluten free grits.” Arrowhead Mills meets the U.S. gluten free grits standard of fewer than 20 parts per million trace gluten.
  • Bob’s Red Mill: Another well-known producer of various grain products, including many labeled “gluten-free,” Bob’s Red Mill makes several different types of grits. Only one is labeled gluten-free: Bob’s Gluten Free Corn Grits Polenta. Steer clear of barley grits, organic polenta corn grits, white corn grits, soy grits, and millet grits. If you’re sensitive to oats, be aware that Bob’s processes its gluten free grits products on the same equipment as its gluten-free oats.2. Check out mixed tocopherols.
  • Julia’s Pantry: Julia’s, purveyor of “naturally Southern foods, snacks, and mixes,” sells several varieties of grits in their “Gluten-Free Foods and Mixes” department. These include Moss Water Ground White Grits, Moss Water Ground Yellow Grits, Whole Grain Yellow Grits Steel Cut, and Yellow Grits Southern Style.
  • Palmetto Farms: These traditional corn grits come in three varieties: stone-ground yellow, stone-ground white, and stone-ground mixed. The company says its traditional stone mill grinding method preserves the natural oils found in the germ of the corn. Palmetto Farms says its traditional grits (not its cheese varieties) have tested below 5 parts per million, well below the “legal” gluten free grits standard.
  • Old School: Old School Stone Ground White Grits are made from non-GMO corn grown in North Carolina and are deliciously gluten-free.
    Dixie Lily: Dixie Lily yellow and white corn grits can be found throughout the southeast and are gluten free grits. Their yellow corn is sourced from Indiana and Kentucky, while their white corn hails from Tennessee.

Grits to Avoid

Since grits are made from corn, not from the gluten grains wheat, barley, or rye, most manufacturers make sure they remain gluten-free during processing. However, there is one popular brand of grits you should avoid: Quaker Instant Grits.

Quaker grits (which come in a wide variety of flavors and packaging) are the most ubiquitous grits you’ll find in U.S. supermarkets. But unfortunately, even though they have no gluten ingredients, Quaker does not consider them to be gluten-free due to the possibility of cross-contamination. Therefore, you should steer clear of Quaker grits.3

Serving Grits

Cooking grits is easy (sort of like rice). It’s likely your grits came with a recipe; if so, definitely use it. If you don’t have a recipe, combine the grits in a large pot with four or five times as much water as grits. Use less water for thicker grits. Bring the mixture to a boil, and then turn down the heat and let it simmer for 45 minutes, stirring frequently to make sure the bottom doesn’t burn. Add butter and salt to taste.3

In the southern United States, grits often are served with ham, which is delicious. Just make sure to use ​gluten-free ham, since not all brands are safe.

A Word from Pro world

When grits aren’t safe on the gluten-free diet, it’s usually because they’ve been processed on equipment that also processes gluten grains. It makes financial sense for manufacturers to use shared equipment to process their various grain products, but it means the finished products may have too much gluten cross-contamination to be considered truly gluten-free.

If you’ve ever had a stomach ache after eating grits, then it’s time to stop buying them. They are not worth the pain in your gut!

Mashed or boiled corn? Both have been linked with gluten-intolerance symptoms such as bloating and vomiting because they contain this protein called zehnerklein who stands for zero geneerence of the wheat family (gliadin). Gluten intolerance is an Autoimmune disorder where our body attacks its own tissues like muscle spasms caused by unrecognized self-antigens which can result from consuming foods containing high amounts of these proteins found within barley related grains including.

Leave a Comment